We're engaging with communities to protect and improve the quality of streams, rivers, lakes, estuaries and groundwater throughout Canterbury. Decisions on water allocation and nutrient management are driven by recommendations from water zone committees in 10 areas.  Find your water zone on the map [JPG, 138 KB].

About the water zone committees

Water zone committees work with the community to deliver the targets of the Canterbury Water Management Strategy.

Regional Water Management Committee

The committee was established in mid-2010 to address regionally-significant water management issues such as infrastructure and environmental enhancement projects.

Subscribe to your water zone mailing list

Are you interested in receiving the latest water zone committee news? Subscribe today.

Kaikōura water zone

The Kaikōura water zone is one of the most tectonically active parts of New Zealand and features diverse landscapes, biodiversity and land uses over short distances.

Hurunui Waiau water zone

The Hurunui Waiau water zone features alpine rivers, the hill-fed Waipara and Conway rivers and the north Pegasus Bay coastal wetlands and coastal hills.

Waimakariri water zone

The Waimakariri water zone lies north of the Waimakariri River and extends from Pegasus Bay in the east to the Puketeraki Range in the west.

Christchurch West Melton water zone

The Christchurch West Melton water zone is home to spring-fed streams and rivers, aquifer zones, the Port Hills and the braided Waimakariri River.

Banks Peninsula water zone

The Banks Peninsula water zone is made up of eroded volcanic domes that have been breached by the sea. Its catchments are short, steep and prone to flash flooding.

Selwyn Waihora water zone

The Selwyn Waihora water zone stretches from the upper Waimakariri basin and the high country around Lake Coleridge down to Te Waihora/Lake Ellesmere.

Ashburton water zone

The Ashburton water zone is bordered by two large braided rivers — the Rakaia and Rangitata, which have their headwaters in the Southern Alps.

Orari Temuka Opihi Pareora water zone

The Orari Temuka Opihi Pareora water zone has hill-fed braided rivers and coastal areas with strong and complex links between ground and surface water.

Upper Waitaki water zone

The Upper Waitaki catchment is almost completely derived from glacial activity with features ranging from alpine ice fields and lakes to braided river plains.

Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone

The Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone features spring-fed streams, coastal lagoons, complex groundwater flows and part of the Waitaki River.

Support for your community hui/event

Request support for your community hui/event

If you are putting on a community hui/event and need our support, then please complete our Community Event Request form.

We can help you by providing material on a water matter, e.g. looking after your stormwater drains; having our staff attend your hui/event, e.g. speaker, expo stand; or through to something else that you need, e.g. publicity support.

We can’t guarantee that we will be able to provide support, however, we’ll direct you to the right person within our organisation who will let you know. Please note, ideally, we need a minimum of six weeks’ notice.

If you have any issues completing this form, please phone us on 0800 324 636 - Customer Services can be contacted between 8am and 5pm, Monday to Friday.

If out of hours or not urgent you can complete our contact us form, selecting ‘Website feedback’ as your enquiry type.