## INITIAL PROPOSAL FOR REPRESENTATION ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE 2019 ELECTIONS

On 21 June 2018 the Canterbury Regional Council determined by resolution the proposed number of constituencies, the proposed name and proposed boundaries of each constituency and the number of members proposed to be elected by the electors of each constituency as set out below.

It is proposed that the Council comprise 13 members elected from seven constituencies.

#### Council representation

The seven constituencies have the following proposed names and reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Proposed name of Constituency	Communities of interest		
North Canterbury-Ōpukepuke	the North Canterbury-Ōpukepuke Constituency includes the districts of Kaikoura, Hurunui and Waimakariri Districts, and aligns with these territorial authority boundaries		
Mid-Canterbury-Ōpākihi	the Mid-Canterbury-Ōpākihi Constituency includes the districts of Selwyn and Ashburton, and aligns with these territorial authority boundaries		
South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi	the South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi Constituency includes the districts of Timaru, Mackenzie, Waimate, and the part of Waitaki that is within the Canterbury region, and aligns with these territorial authority boundaries		
Christchurch North-Ōrei	the Christchurch North-Ōrei Constituency includes the 4 Christchurch City Council wards of Coastal Innes, Papanui, and Burwood, and aligns with these city council ward boundaries		
Christchurch West-Ōpuna	the Christchurch West-Ōpuna Constituency includes the 4 Christchurch City Council wards of Harewood, Waimairi, Hornby and Halswell, and aligns with these city council ward boundaries		
Christchurch Central-Ōhoko	the Christchurch Central-Ōhoko Constituency includes the 4 Christchurch City Council wards of Fendalton, Riccarton, Central and Linwood, and aligns with these city council ward boundaries		
Christchurch South-Ōwhanga	the Christchurch South-Ōwhanga Constituency includes the 4 Christchurch City wards of Spreydon, Cashmere, Heathcote and Banks Peninsula, and aligns with these city council ward boundaries		

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Constituency	Population*	Members	Population per member
North Canterbury-Öpukepuke	75,800	2	37,900
Mid-Canterbury-Ōpākihi	93,440	2	46,720
South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi	61,320	1	61,320
Christchurch North-Ōrei	100,400	2	50,200
Christchurch West-Ōpuna	95,700	2	47,850
Christchurch Central-Ōhoko	103,300	2	51,650
Christchurch South-Ōwhanga	82,320	2	41,160
Total	612,280	13	

estimated resident population as at 30 June 2017 provided by Statistics NX\*

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents in the Mid-Canterbury-Ōpākihi, Christchurch North-Ōrei, Christchurch West-Ōpuna and Christchurch Central-Ōhoko Constituencies falls within the range of 47,098 +/-10% (42,389 to 51,807).

The representation of the North Canterbury-Ōpukepuke, South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi, and Christchurch South-Ōwhanga Constituencies does not fall within the range of 47,098 +/-10% (42,389 to 51,807) and therefore does not comply with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001. Section 19V(3)(b) provides that where a regional council considers that effective representation of communities of interest so requires, constituencies may be defined with members distributed between them in a way that does not comply with the +/-10% rule, and Council considers that:

- representation by two councillors in the North Canterbury-Ōpukepuke Constituency results in over representation (a -19.53% deviation from the regional average councillor to elector ratio). The degree of over representation in this case would not unreasonably compromise fair and effective representation across the balance of the region and is done to align with territorial authority boundaries and reflect communities of interest in the North Canterbury-Ōpukepuke area (reliant on section 19U(c) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that requires regional council constituency boundaries, so far as practicable to coincide with the boundaries of territorial authority districts or the boundaries of wards).
- representation by two councillors in Christchurch South-Ōwhanga Constituency results in over representation (a -12.61% deviation from the regional average councillor to elector ratio). The degree of over representation in this case would not unreasonably compromise fair and effective representation across the city, nor compromise the balance of representation across the region, and is done to align with territorial authority boundaries and reflect the communities of interest in the Christchurch South-Ōwhanga area (reliant on section 19U(c) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that requires regional council constituency boundaries, so far as practicable to coincide with the boundaries of territorial authority districts or the boundaries of wards).
- representation by one councillor in South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi Constituency results in under representation (a +30.20% deviation from the regional average councillor to elector ratio). Based on a 13 member Council and 3 Canterbury constituencies it is not possible to achieve compliance, and in this case the principles of fair and effective representation are balanced between one area and the remainder of the region and is done to align with territorial authority boundaries and reflect communities of interest in the South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi area liant on section 19U(c) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that requires regional council constituency boundaries, so far as practicable to coincide with the boundaries of territorial authority districts or the boundaries of wards). The under representation in South Canterbury-Ōtuhituhi reflects the geography of the Canterbury region.

### **Further information**

Copies of Council's resolution and maps setting out the areas of the proposed constituencies can be viewed on Council's website at haveyoursay.ecan.govt.nz or obtained from the offices of Environment Canterbury (addresses below).

Any queries regarding the Council's proposal should be directed to Cindy Butt (Governance Services Team Leader) at cindy.butt@ecan.govt.nz or phone 03 367 7436.

### Ways to make a submission

Submissions open on Thursday 28 June 2018, and close at 4 pm on Monday 30 July 2018. If you wish to present your submission at a hearing, please indicate this in your submission. You can make a submission in the following ways:

# **Online**

Complete the submission form online by going to haveyoursay@ecan.govt.nz, and selecting Representation Review.

### In writing

Download the form from havevoursav@ecan.govt.nz. pick one up from any of our offices, or write to us and post to:

Freepost 1201 Representation Review P O Box 345 Christchurch 8140

### By hand

You can drop your submission form in at the offices of **Environment Canterbury** 

- 200 Tuam Street, Christchurch
- 75 Church Street, Timaru
- 96 West End, Level 2, Kaikoura

### By email

mailroom@ecan.govt.nz. Please ensure you use Representation Review as your subject and that your name and address is included. If you wish to present your submission at a hearing, please indicate this in your email.

### **Public Information**

All information contained in a submission under section 19M of the Local Electoral Act 2001, including names and addresses for service, becomes public information. Your information is held and administered by Environment Canterbury in accordance with the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and the Privacy Act 1993. This means that your information may be disclosed to other people who request it in accordance with the terms of these Acts. It is therefore important you let us know if your form includes any information you consider should not be disclosed.

Bill Bayfield - Chief Executive

