Please upgrade your web browser now. Internet Explorer 6 is no longer supported.

Banks Peninsula Zone Committee meeting

Published: 23/07/2012 9:32 a.m. 

The Canterbury Water Banks Peninsula Zone Committee will meet for its monthly meeting on Tuesday 24 July at Wairewa Marae, starting at 4pm.

The committee will begin the meeting with an update from the Regional Committee before discussing the issues identified in the draft drinking water and biodiversity chapters of its Zone Implementation Programme (ZIP) for water management.

The committee will particularly focus on Wairewa/Lake Forsyth, which has been identified as one of its key priority areas for water management. At the meeting the committee will hear from the Rūnunga about its plans for the management of the lake, before hearing the Christchurch City Council’s plans for drainage and flood management.

The committee will also hear about the nature of current relationships with Wairewa Rūnanga and other organisations, and the statutory obligations of Environment Canterbury with regard to the Wairewa sub-regional chapter process.

The committee’s other priorities for water management in the zone are: drinking water, tourism, biodiversity, wastewater, run off / contamination, coastal, education and communication.

These priorities feed in to the committee’s draft ZIP which each zone committee is required to develop to bring together its recommendations for water management in the zone to meet the targets and goals set out in the Canterbury Water Management Strategy (CWMS).

The committee hopes to have its draft ZIP available to the public for feedback before the end of the year. Once finalised, the ZIP will be presented to councils to be endorsed as the basis for the design and realignment of work programmes, for drafting regional plan provisions.

The Banks Peninsula Zone Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month. Zone Committee meetings are open to the public.

The committee consists of five community members, four Rūnanga representatives, and appointees from Environment Canterbury and Christchurch City Council.

Meeting details

Banks Peninsula Zone Committee meeting
4pm, Tuesday, 24 July.
Wairewa Marae, State Highway 75, Little River

Read the agenda (2 MB)

Note - Members of the public attending the meeting need to arrive by 3:45pm for the Powhiri, the welcome, onto the Marae.

More News

  • Bus Interchange anniversary today
    25 May 2016 Bus Interchange anniversary today
    Nearly 1.7 million people have caught a bus from Christchurch’s Bus Interchange since it opened a year ago today.
  • Riccarton Road bus priority work to continue next month
    25 May 2016 Riccarton Road bus priority work to continue next month
    The next phase of the Riccarton Road Bus Priority work will start in June with the removal of the roundabout on the corner of Riccarton Road and Deans Avenue and the installation of traffic signals.
  • Biodiversity flourishes at Tutaepatu Lagoon
    20 May 2016 Biodiversity flourishes at Tutaepatu Lagoon
    Tutaepatu Lagoon near Woodend Beach is being transformed from a weed-infested waterway into an indigenous coastal ecosystem thanks to $200 000 of restoration funding from the Waimakariri Zone Committee.
View all news »