Please upgrade your web browser now. Internet Explorer 6 is no longer supported.

Banks Peninsula Zone Committee Meeting

Published: 18/06/2012 3:57 p.m. 

The Canterbury Water Banks Peninsula Zone Committee will meet for its monthly meeting on Tuesday 19 June in Allandale.

A key focus for the committee will be on determining its time frame for developing a draft Zone Implementation Programme (ZIP) for water management in the zone.

Each zone committee is required to develop a ZIP to bring together its recommendations for water management in the zone to meet the targets and goals set out in the Canterbury Water Management Strategy (CWMS).

The committee has developed its priorities for water management in the zone following a series of public meetings last year. These are: drinking water, tourism, biodiversity, Lake Wairewa, wastewater, run off / contamination, coastal, education and communication.

The committee hopes to have its draft ZIP available to the public for feedback before the end of the year. Once finalised, the ZIP will be presented to councils to be endorsed as the basis for the design and realignment of work programmes, for drafting regional plan provisions.

At this month’s meeting the committee will also receive a number of presentations on issues relevant to water management in the zone. These include presentations from Rick Menzies (Banks Peninsula Conservation Trust), Alice Shanks (QEII Trust), Robin Smith (DoC), and Claire Findlay (Lyttelton Harbour / Whakaraupo Issues Group) on the biodiversity values of local waterways.

The committee will finish the meeting with an overview from Environment Canterbury on the development of a joint biodiversity management document for Banks Peninsula.

The core agencies involved in biodiversity management on Banks Peninsula are seeking to achieve a greater level of coordination and alignment in their work. One initiative currently underway is the development of a joint biodiversity management document for Banks Peninsula that establishes some core common objectives and priorities for biodiversity.

The Banks Peninsula Zone Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month. Zone Committee meetings are open to the public.

The committee consists of five community members, four Rūnanga representatives, and appointees from Environment Canterbury and Christchurch City Council.

Meeting details

Banks Peninsula Zone Committee meeting
4pm, Tuesday, 19 June
Living Springs Auditorium Breakout Room, 218 Bamfords Road, Allandale

Read the agenda (93 kB)

More News

  • Bus Interchange anniversary today
    25 May 2016 Bus Interchange anniversary today
    Nearly 1.7 million people have caught a bus from Christchurch’s Bus Interchange since it opened a year ago today.
  • Riccarton Road bus priority work to continue next month
    25 May 2016 Riccarton Road bus priority work to continue next month
    The next phase of the Riccarton Road Bus Priority work will start in June with the removal of the roundabout on the corner of Riccarton Road and Deans Avenue and the installation of traffic signals.
  • Biodiversity flourishes at Tutaepatu Lagoon
    20 May 2016 Biodiversity flourishes at Tutaepatu Lagoon
    Tutaepatu Lagoon near Woodend Beach is being transformed from a weed-infested waterway into an indigenous coastal ecosystem thanks to $200 000 of restoration funding from the Waimakariri Zone Committee.
View all news »